Historic Landmark Commission

With the adoption of Chapter 211 of the LGC and adoption of zone regulations the City established 19 districts/classifications. Two of which focused on historic preservation.

  • Historic Cultural Landmark Preservation designation 
  • Historic Cultural Landmark Overlay District 


Sec.28.02.007 of the City Code of Ordinances establishes a Historic Landmark Commission.

The Historic Landmark Commission consists of 12 Members.

  •  1 licensed attorney and architect
  • 1 member from the City Planning Commission
  • 1 member from Beaumont Heritage Society
  • 1 member from Jefferson County Historical Commission
  • 1 professional historian
  • 6 members at-large at with knowledge of architectural, archeological, cultural, social, economic, ethic, and political history of Beaumont

Members are appointed by the City Council.


The chairman may call a special meeting at any time.  A quorum of the board shall consist of seven members or alternate members. 

Members serve a 2-year term that expires September 30 of odd-numbered years. 

Meetings are open to the public. View the Historic Landmark Commission 2024 Calendar (PDF) for meeting dates and submissions and deadlines.


Recommends historic-cultural landmark preservation designations and districts and assist with the enforcement of the ordinance in those areas


Meetings are held the Second Monday of every month at 3:30 pm.

City Hall
801 Main Street
Council Chambers, First Floor
Beaumont, TX 77701

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval.

View Most Recent Agendas and Minutes