Disaster Recovery

On April 8, 2022 the Secretary of Agriculture designated 174 Texas Counties (Jefferson County included) as primary natural disaster areas caused by drought occurring December 8, 2021 and continuing. As a result, farm operators may be eligible for low-interest loans. See additional information regarding low interest loans (PDF).

You must report your damages directly to the appraisal district.

  1. Disaster Assistance


To find help for your immediate needs, please enter an address to get a list of the closest FEMA Disaster Recovery Centers (DRCs), starting with the closest three.

Visit DisasterAssistance.gov.

Homeowners Assistance Program Application Information

November 20, 2018 - Texas Land Commissioner George P. Bush announced the application for the Homeowner Assistance Program is now available in all eligible Hurricane Harvey affected counties. See additional information regarding the Homeowner Assistance Program.

Disaster Recovery Public Notice

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) hereby gives notice to the public of its intent to reimburse eligible applicants for eligible costs to repair and/or replace facilities damaged by Hurricane Harvey beginning August 23, 2017, and ending September 15, 2017. This notice applies to the Public Assistance (PA), Individual Assistance (lA), and Hazard Mitigation Grant (HMGP) programs implemented under the authority of the Robert T. Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act, 42 USC. §§ 5121-5207. Read the full public notice (PDF).

IRS Disaster Assistance

You may deduct the loss or partial loss of your home, household goods, and motor vehicles from disaster damage on your individual federal income tax return. See additional information regarding IRS Disaster Assistance (PDF).

SBA Disaster Loans

SBA has approved $51,025,100 in federal disaster loans for Texas businesses and residents impacted by Hurricane Harvey. View the information on how to apply for this assistance.